Klein Constania

Our News

Hans Astrom appointed Managing Director of Klein Constantia

Posted on 15 Nov 2011

Zdenek Bakala and Charles Harman are delighted to announce the appointment of Hans Astrom as the new Managing Director of Klein Constantia. Hans will succeed Lowell Jooste, the current Managing Director of Klein Constantia, early in 2012. Lowell will be appointed as a non-executive member of the Board of Klein Constantia thereafter.

Hans comes with 26 years of experience in the international wine business. Early in his career he was voted Sweden’s best sommelier and later became vice president of Peter Lehmann Wines Ltd. Before joining Klein Constantia he held a General Manager position for Hess Family Estates, one of the most successful New World wine producers. At Klein Constantia Hans will be working closely with Mathew Day and Stiaan Cloete, who will be responsible for the coming vintage following Adam Mason’s planned move to become Cellarmaster at Mulderbosch.

Lowell Jooste has been intimately involved in Klein Constantia since the re-establishment of this historic estate in the early 1980s. The Jooste family sold Klein Constantia in May 2011, at which time Lowell agreed to continue as Managing Director on an interim basis in order to ensure a smooth succession following the change in ownership.

Zdenek Bakala said: “We are delighted to have attracted a manager of Hans’ calibre and track record. He will drive the development of Klein Constantia under the new ownership with the ambition to solidify its position as the iconic South African wine estate, while reaching an ever increasing number of discerning wine connoisseurs around the world.

He added: “We are very grateful to Lowell Jooste, who has been a great guardian of Klein Constantia’s heritage and are happy that he will continue his involvement with the winery as non-executive director, providing further continuity to Klein Constantia’s operations.”

Following these changes the Board of Klein Constantia Winery will consist of Zdenek Bakala, Charles Harman, Rene Roger, Lowell Jooste, Roly Hofmeyr and Hans Astrom.